New Jersey State Bar Association - The voluntary Bar Association of New Jersey, serving members since 1899.

For Immediate Release:  08/25/10

Contact:  D. Todd Sidor

Director of Government Affairs


Notice to the Bar - The NJSBA is Soliciting Nominations for the Arthur T. Vanderbilt Award for Excellence in Judicial Administration

New Brunswick, NJ - In 2007, the NJSBA Board of Trustees voted to endorse the recommendation of its Judicial Administration Committee calling for the creation of an award to recognize excellence in judicial administration.

The Arthur T. Vanderbilt Award for Excellence in Judicial Administration was created to recognize outstanding efforts by individuals in the legal community who assist in fulfilling the mission statements of the NJSBA and that of the Judicial Administration Committee in the area of judicial administration. The award is named for Arthur T. Vanderbilt who was an advocate for judicial administration, served as the chair of the New Jersey Judicial Council prior to adoption of the 1947 Constitution, President-elect of the NJSBA before becoming ABA President, and the first Chief Justice under the present state constitution. The recipient may not be a current member of the Judicial Administration Committee. In addition, it is not necessary that the recipient be an attorney or NJSBA member (so that judges and court staff may qualify to receive the award).

Nominations for the award are solicited from members of the Judicial Administration Committee and members of the NJSBA Board of Trustees, and the NJSBA. Once received, the Judicial Administration Committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to NJSBA Executive Committee.

The mandate of the NJSBA Judicial Administration Committee and Judicial Administration Program are to improve the quality, effectiveness and efficiency of New Jersey's judicial system through system-wide communication and participation. This mandate is to be viewed broadly in nature and scope.

We are soliciting nominations until October 25, 2010. The award will be presented in December. A nomination form is available via the following link: Nominations should be returned to D. Todd Sidor, Director of Government Affairs, c/o NJSBA, One Constitution Square, New Brunswick, NJ 08901 or via e-mail at

 - NJSBA -