New Jersey State Bar Association - The voluntary Bar Association of New Jersey, serving members since 1899.

For Immediate Release


Kate Coscarelli

Director, Media Relations


Candidates picked for NJSBA leadership positions

Nominating Committee selects Prol as next secretary


A three-term trustee was tapped to be the New Jersey State Bar Association’s next secretary.


The association’s Nominating Committee last week announced its slate of candidates for leadership positions. The selection means Thomas Hoff Prol, 43, is on track to become president in 2017.


The committee also tapped a host of others for positions in the state’s largest lawyers group, including to its governing body, the board of trustees.


“The task was challenging due to the extremely high qualifications of everyone involved, and it certainly is a reflection on the enthusiasm and dedication of our members,” said Kathleen Fennelly, chair of the Nominating Committee.


The committee made its selections after conducting a series of interviews with the candidates. Unless a nominated position is challenged, the candidates will begin service in May at the association’s Annual Meeting and Convention in Atlantic City.


Prol is a partner at Cleary, Giacobbe, Alfieri & Jacobs in Florahm Park, where his law practice includes the representation of public entities, environmental law and general litigation. He grew up in Sussex County, the son of a mental health care professional and a World War II Navy veteran who worked as a bricklayer. His parents instilled in him a moral obligation and a passion to stand up for those who cannot stand up for themselves, he said. Prol has described his leadership style as one centered on the ideas of diplomacy and transparency.


“As state bar secretary, I will continue standing up for fiscal restraint, transparency in the association’s decision-making and inclusion of the wide diversity of viewpoints among our members including practice areas, law firm sizes and personal backgrounds,” said Prol. “Moreover, I will work to broaden the association’s role as a vocal advocate in the Legislature and the courtroom for the issues that are important to New Jersey attorneys… Our organization, and the perspective it brings to bear on important issues of the day, is widely respected throughout the state. I want to continue our proud history advocating for NJSBA members’ interests and positive change before the Legislature and the courts.”


His state bar association activities include serving as trustee, vice-chair of the Amicus Committee, and a member of the Legislative and Finance and Operations committees. He was selected as Young Lawyer of the Year in 2004. He is also a former co-chair of the Gay Lesbian Bisexual and Transgender Rights Section, and he is on track to become the first openly gay president of the state bar association. Prol is the association’s representative on the Supreme Court’s Board on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education.


“I am honored and humbled by this selection and I am proud to be able to speak up on behalf of our membership,” said Prol.


The other candidates who sought the secretary position were: Ivette Ramos Alvarez, of Einhorn, Harris, Ascher, Barbarito & Frost; Bonnie Blume Goldsamt, a solo practitioner with offices in Verona and Hackensack; and Amirali Haidri, a solo practitioner in Union.


The candidates:


NJSBA Executive Committee

One-year terms

Ralph J. Lamparello – President-Elect

Paris P. Eliades - First Vice President

Miles S. Winder III – Second Vice President

Angela White Dalton – Treasurer

Thomas Hoff Prol – Secretary


Board of Trustees:


County Trustees

Two-year terms

Anthony M. Carlino, Bergen

Edward W. Hoffman, Burlington

Michael L. Testa Jr., Cumberland   

Domenick Carmagnola, Essex

Ronald J. Uzdavinis, Gloucester

Bennett A. Robbins, Hudson

Jeffrey S. Posta, Mercer

William A. Krais, Morris

Dominic V. Caruso, Passaic

Shanna McCann, Salem

Michael S. Selvaggi, Warren


At-Large Trustees

Three seats, each for a two-year term, for the following under-represented groups, as designated by the board, Asian-American, Hispanic and over 70-years-old

Sandra T. Ayres, age over 70

Evelyn Padin, Hispanic

Supti Bhattacharya, Asian-American


Section/Committee Trustees

Three seats, each a two-year term 

Robert J. Brass 

Robert B. Hille

John E. Keefe Jr.


Young Lawyers Division Trustee

One seat for a two-year term

Brandon D. Minde


Nominating Committee

Two seats, one for a two-year term and one for a one-year term

John G. DeSimone

Mary Ellen Tully


ABA House of Delegates

Two seats, each for a two-year term

Karol Corbin Walker

Steven M. Richman