New Jersey State Bar Association - The voluntary Bar Association of New Jersey, serving members since 1899.

For Immediate Release


Charles J. Hollenbeck, Esq., Director

NJ Commission on Professionalism in the Law

Nominations Sought for Daniel J. O'Hern Award

The New Jersey Commission on Professionalism in the Law is soliciting nominations for the 2012 Daniel J. O’ Hern Award. The award is presented annually to a senior member of the bar of outstanding character who has continually displayed a firm commitment to the ideals of professionalism, as epitomized in the Commission’s aspirational code, the Principles of Professionalism. A nominee must be well respected in the legal community for integrity, competence, high ethical standards, career achievement and service to the bar and/or community. Current and former judges are not eligible for the award. The award will be presented at the Commission’s Professionalism Awards Luncheon which will be held at the Pines Manor in Edison, on November 1, 2012.


Letters of nomination, setting forth a lawyer’s qualifications, should be sent by June 5 to Charles J. Hollenbeck, Executive Director of the Commission, New Jersey Law Center, One Constitution Square, New Brunswick, NJ 08901, or by e-mail to


Prior winners of the award include Carl Poplar, Frances Margolis, Richard A. Norris, Raymond Londa, Cynthia M. Jacob, Albert Burstein, Matthias D. Dileo, Adrian M. Foley, Jay H. Greenblatt, Mary Jean Gallagher, Alan V. Lowenstein and Donald A. Robinson.