New Jersey State Bar Association - The voluntary Bar Association of New Jersey, serving members since 1899.

NJ Commission on Professionalism

Note: The Commission does not regulate, investigate or discipline lawyers. For advice on filing a complaint against a lawyer please contact the Office of Attorney Ethics, PO Box 963, Trenton, NJ. You may call them at (609) 530-4010.


The New Jersey Commission on Professionalism in the Law is a unique cooperative venture of the NJSBA, the state and federal judiciary, and New Jersey's three law schools. The Commission was formed in response to increasing displeasure within the bar about the future direction of the profession, and public criticism of lawyers and the legal system. We hope to contribute to a strengthening of the traditional values, and sense of responsibility and public purpose, that have made the practice of law a distinguished profession. Moreover, we hope our work helps to increase public respect for judges and the justice system.

Towards this end the Commission develops programs and initiatives for lawyers, judges, and law students. We sponsor and participate in educational seminars, take positions on professional responsibility issues, and serve as an information resource for bar associations. The Commission operates from the New Jersey Law Center in New Brunswick.

The Commission's Chair is Superior Court judge Linda R. Feinberg of Mercer County. Members include a member of the New Jersey Supreme Court, a federal district court judge, representatives of the state trial and appellate courts, the Deans of New Jersey's law schools, distinguished members of the bar, an academic from Rutgers College, and a public representative. The Commission's Executive Director is Charles J. Hollenbeck.


Hon. Jerome B. Simandle

U.S. District Court

U.S. Courthouse

PO Box 2797

Camden, NJ 08101



Hon. Louis J. Belasco

Dean Kathleen Boozang

Dean Ronald K. Chen

Hon. Georgia M. Curio

Hon. Wendel E. Daniels

Susan A. Feeney, Esq.

Hon. Linda R. Feinberg (ret.)

Hon. Jose L. Fuentes

Alan I. Gould, Esq.

Professor Milton Heumann

Shanna McCann, Esq.

Professor Jamie Pukl-Werbel

Hon. Stuart Rabner

Dean Rayman L. Solomon

Karol Corbin Walker, Esq.

James Youngleson, Esq.



Hon. John W. Bissell

Hon. Jack L. Lintner